Research Proposal: The benefits pt.3

My proposal is to create a scenic art resource to use as a teaching tool outside of the workshops and an online community for discussion and sharing of learning.

What are the benefits of such a resource?

The students can learn at their own time and pace.

The Scenic art course is an integral part of each production, from Opera to musical theatre. Without us the shows and the high standards we set ourselves they would not arrive on stage in the beautiful way they so. Each production has a schedule, that relies on the other departments as they rely on us but as my colleague said “the opening night stays the opening night… no matter what”. How do we as teacher let the students learn at their own time and pace? How to we give them the space to experiment if we are always chasing a date.

One part of this answer is that increasing the pace of the students work is an important aim for us during their 3 years. The industry is a fast paced environment, the demands are high and I want my students to be ready.

In a survey I recently set the students 50% preferred video content over any other resource available. One said:

“You can watch people try techniques and stop and start it”

When I talked in the last post about quality of my time, I also extend that to the students. I don’t want them to be focused on what primer to use on wood. I want them to problem solve, to experiment and hone their technique.

Leave a Reply

