Reflective Writing

Today I received the assessment for ATCA module. I passed and the advice I was given will prove very helpful over the current module and the next (providing I pass again). One of the key points that stuck out to me was how my critical reflection somewhat waned as the module progressed. This stood out out because i could immediately identify this as completely correct. As I felt the pressure to find my research path and sources that would back up my proposal, I left the reflection quite happily at the side of the path hoping if it was out of sight and mind that I wouldn’t have to think about it again. At the time I didn’t have a strong grasp of reflection, and truly I never have. My reflective essays during my degree were descriptive, meandering and woefully short on any reflection. Since I graduated 5 years ago I haven’t reflected in any meaningful way since and as a classic British male, my feelings are locked up tighter than a clam inside a locked box inside a larger clam. But as of today, on advice from my assessor, I’m setting down some questions that I can use to reflect on the sources that I find for The Teaching Artist module.

Has it given you insight that you did not previously have?

Did it reveal anything about you as a learner/worker?

Are there any implications for your future work?

Is there anything you would do differently in the future? Why?

Has it allowed you to develop or more easily identify your skills?

https://dundeeandangus.ac.uk/assets/Uploads/About-Us/Our-Campus/Library-Guides/Reflective-Writing.pdf

These questions are from Dundee University’s own document on reflective writing and I felt was the most clear and to the point of the advice out there (having looked at a few other uni pages). So (deep breath) lets get reflective on stuff that is important and that (it can only get better from there honest).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reflective Writing

  1. Hi Scott,
    This looks like a good set of questions. I would like to stress that reflection doesn’t need to get too emotional or touchy-feely. If you think in terms of the rider, elephant and guide metaphor, then the elephant might be reflecting on feelings and emotions, but the rider can be focusing on philosophy and values in a more analytical way. The guide might be reflecting on previous strategies and their success, and on proposing new strategies.
    Ideally you would be reflecting at all three levels, but if you stick with the rider and guide, I’m sure the elephant will want to get in on the act from time to time.
    Not sure if this metaphor is a step too far. I can say it without the elephants if that’s easier
    Jamie

    Like

  2. So if the guide is reflecting on previous strategies, the success or failures, should the rider be reasoning how this learning and reflection can be used in future learning? I’m trying to apply this in a post on the VARK model. I’ll give it a go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

